Behind the Blackboard! Ultra Experience - File and Recording Storage FAQ - Behind the Blackboard Skip Navigation
Download PDF  Icon Download PDF    Print article

Ultra Experience - File and Recording Storage FAQ

Date Published: Nov 09,2018


CategoryProduct:Help & FAQs; Version:Ultra Experience
Article No.: 000040384
Product:
Collaborate - Ultra Experience
Document Type:
User Documentation

Document Summary:

This FAQ answers questions about Collaborate with the Ultra experience file and recording storage.

Document Details:

Can you record Collaborate with the Ultra experience sessions?

Yes, Collaborate with the Ultra experience can record an MP4 video of your session. The following content is available in an Ultra recording:

  • Room Audio
  • Content Sharing/Whiteboard OR Active Speaker Video if no content sharing is occurring.
  • Captioning, only one track will be shown in the recording if there are multiple tracks.

Recordings will be available shortly after the session is completed.

Recordings will ONLY be emailed to the session owner when the Blackboard Collaborate Ultra session was created in the Ultra Scheduler directly. No email will be sent to invited Moderators. If the Blackboard Collaborate Ultra session was created in any CMS/LMS including Moodle and Blackboard Learn, no recording email will be sent. Instructors and students can securely access the recording in the CMS/LMS course.

For complete instructions on how to record your Collaborate with the Ultra experience please review our recording documentation on https://help.blackboard.com.

Where is my content (persistent content uploads and recordings) stored?

Persistent content uploads, converted files and MP4 recordings are stored in Amazon's S3 service by region. Below is a table showing the geography of the stored data.

RegionAWS Zone
USUS-East (Virginia)
EUIreland
AUPersistent Content files: Ireland (until Nov. 24th, 2018) / Sydney (after Nov. 24th, 2018)
MP4 Recordings: Ireland (created before Nov. 24th, 2018) / Sydney (created after Nov. 24th, 2018)
CAPersistent Content files: Ireland (until Nov. 24th, 2018) / Montreal (after Nov. 24th, 2018)
MP4 Recordings: Ireland (created before Nov. 24th, 2018) / Montreal (created after Nov. 24th, 2018)

On November 24th, 2018 AU and CA hosted client's persistent content files will be migrated to AWS Sydney and AWS Montreal. AU and CA hosted client's Blackboard Ultra recordings created after November 24th, 2018 will be hosted on AWS Sydney and AWS Montreal. AU and CA Collaborate Ultra recordings created before November 24th, 2018 will continue to be hosted on AWS Ireland. Please see KBA 000049861 for more details.

Amazon S3 uses Amazon CloudFront to cache and quickly serve up files to clients depending on their geo location. Those files can be cached for a period of time (no less than 24 hours) on the CloudFront edge server. Clients hosted on AWS Ireland should note that depending on a requesting user's location, the file can possibly be cached on a United States hosted Amazon CloudFront edge servers. 

Important Note:  Persistent content uploads and Recordings for the institution can be disabled by opening a support case in Behind the Blackboard and requesting these features be disabled if your institution cannot allow data to be stored in Ireland or use Amazon CloudFront.

Do I need to configure my firewall to view recordings

Most institutions will freely allow access to the Amazon AWS service. If there are issues accessing recordings, we highly recommend that institutions visit our Firewall and Network page for further information. 

What is captured in my Collaborate with the Ultra experience recordings?

The following content is available in an Ultra recording:

  • Room Audio
  • Content Sharing/Whiteboard OR Active Speaker Video if no content sharing is occurring.
  • Captioning, only one track will be shown in the recording if there are multiple tracks.
  • Chat 

How do I create multiple recordings in my Collaborate with the Ultra experience session?

Pressing the recording start/stop will produce a single recording, pressing start again during a session will start a NEW recording.

This functionality is different from Original Collaborate  (Web Conferencing 12.6).

How long does it take before I or someone else can view the recordings?

Your recording should be available for viewing within minutes of completing the recording for both you and anyone else that needs to view it. 


Can I download my Collaborate with the Ultra experience recordings?

Ultra Scheduler and Learning Tools Interoperability® (LTI) users can download recordings from the Ultra Scheduler interface as well as on the recording play back page. To allow session recording downloads from the recording play back page, the session owner must allow session recording downloads in the Session Settings.

Please Note: Ultra sessions created in Blackboard Learn using the Collaborate "Original" building block and Moodle using SOAP API will not have the download option in their recording playback page at this time.

Can I delete my recordings?

Yes, you will be able to delete recordings in the Ultra Scheduler.

If an instructor deletes a Collaborate Ultra recording from within their Blackboard course, does that effectively remove the .mp4 from counting towards the institutions Collaborate Ultra recording storage quota?

Not at this time. The recording, although deleted from the Collaborate Scheduler still exists on the AWS servers and thus counts against the storage quota. Clients need to open a support case to have these recordings deleted from the AWS storage servers.

Can I rename my recording?

Yes, recordings can be renamed under the recording options drop down in the recordings tab of the scheduler.

Do I get an email notification when my recording is ready?

Yes, the session owner will get an email that contains a link to the recording. Session invitees will not receive an email, the session owner will have to give this link to users they wish to share the recording with. CMS/LMS integration users will NOT receive an email.

Can I track who has viewed the MP4?

No, at this time you cannot track who viewed the MP4.

Can I password protect a recording?

No, at this time you cannot password protect your recordings.

Can I migrate my Collaborate Classic View recordings?

Web Conferencing service, both the Collaborate Classic View and the Collaborate with Ultra experience can be utilized in parallel. All existing .vcr and .mp4 recordings for Classic View will remain available for use with the current version. We do not plan on migrating recordings from the current version(s) into the Collaborate with Ultra experience format.

What are my Collaborate with the Ultra experience recording storage limits?

500 GB limitation will apply to recordings created in the Collaborate with the Ultra experience.
50 GB limitation still applies for recordings created in the Classic view.

Is there a MP4 Viewing Limit?

No, endless MP4 views are allowed.

Are live captions available in my recording?

Live captions are inserted into your MP4's, please be aware of the following limitations: 

Only one of the four captioning tracks are displayed in the streaming version, and for now, no tracks will be shown for mobile users.

Why are my chat messages not recorded in my recording?

As of July 2017, Chat messages should be in all recordings that used chat in the live session.

Will Ultra Recordings be available through my LMS?

Ultra Recordings will be available in Blackboard Learn and through any CMS/LMS's that use our Ultra LTI Tool. Please note that recordings created in the LMS will NOT send an email to the instructor when the recording is ready. Please access the recording in your LMS course.

How long are my recordings stored?

At this time there is no limit on the amount of time a Collaborate Ultra recording is stored.

 



The information contained in the Knowledge Base was written and/or verified by Blackboard Support. It is approved for client use. Nothing in the Knowledge Base shall be deemed to modify your license in any way to any Blackboard product. If you have comments, questions, or concerns, please send an email to kb@blackboard.com. © 2019 Blackboard Inc. All rights reserved