Behind the Blackboard! Contingency plan to temporarily disable specific Blackboard Collaborate features to sustain unprecedented global adoption - Behind the Blackboard Skip Navigation
Download PDF  Icon Download PDF    Print article

Contingency plan to temporarily disable specific Blackboard Collaborate features to sustain unprecedented global adoption

Date Published: Mar 18,2020


CategoryProduct:Ultra Experience; Version:Ultra Experience
Article No.: 000052129

Type:
Support Bulletin

Product:
Blackboard Collaborate


Bulletin/Advisory Information:

Contingency plan to temporarily disable specific Blackboard Collaborate features to sustain unprecedented global adoption

 
Updated March 14, 2020
As the COVID-19 (Coronavirus) global pandemic continues to unfold, many institutions around the world are leveraging Blackboard Collaborate to support blended and fully online instruction. We are grateful that our virtual classroom capability is helping the broader educational community maintain continuity of instruction during this challenging time for instructors and students.
 
We have been carefully monitoring Collaborate as more schools and organizations increase their use, and we have already taken specific measures to optimize its reliability.  In the coming weeks, we are projecting an unprecedented increase in the use of Collaborate in different regions around the world. Out of an abundance of caution, and in order to maintain the highest continuity of service possible, we have made the decision to disable specific features that can impact overall system stability. These features are:
 
    •    Timer (a countdown timer that helps with classroom time management) 
    •    Chat typing indicator (a visual indicator that someone is typing but have not yet completed their thought. The chat feature itself will still be available.) 
    •    Netstats indicator (a visual indicator of connection quality next to each user)
 
We believe that the removal of these features will not significantly impact the overall Collaborate user experience, which will still include video, screen sharing, chat, a virtual whiteboard, and other favorite features. We believe that disabling them is in the best interest of our global client community. Consistent, reliable service is our top priority. We expect to reinstate these features once we have more information about how the system is performing and we continue to make improvements. 
 
In addition to disabling the features above, we will be temporarily disabling or reducing the following administrator-level functionality in Collaborate.
 
    •    Recording transcoding (this includes generating several renditions of a recording file, which is not necessary for the playback of a Collaborate recording). 
 
We plan to disable this functionality on Saturday, March 14, 2020, in the evening Eastern Daylight Time.

As we continue to monitor the performance of Collaborate in the coming weeks, and in the interest of prioritizing system stability over all else, we may take similar actions for other capabilities. If this situation arises, we will notify our clients in a similar manner to this message.



The information contained in the Knowledge Base was written and/or verified by Blackboard Support. It is approved for client use. Nothing in the Knowledge Base shall be deemed to modify your license in any way to any Blackboard product. If you have comments, questions, or concerns, please send an email to kb@blackboard.com. © 2020 Blackboard Inc. All rights reserved