Behind the Blackboard! Plans to Phase out Blackboard Collaborate Original Regionally: FAQ - Behind the Blackboard Skip Navigation
Download PDF  Icon Download PDF    Print article

Plans to Phase out Blackboard Collaborate Original Regionally: FAQ

Date Published: Jun 16,2020


CategoryProduct:Collaborate; Version:Collaborate
Article No.: 000051000
Product:
Blackboard Collaborate

Introduction:

This FAQ is related to a Support Bulletin we recently published regarding phasing out Blackboard Collaborate Original.  Please view the Support Bulletin below:


What is being announced? 

  • Blackboard is phasing out Collaborate Original
  • This will be done regionally, starting in Sydney, which serves clients in the Asia-Pacific (APAC) region 
  • The next region that will be phased out is Calgary, which primarily serves clients in Canada
  • Clients hosted out of Amsterdam and Virginia will need to transition by the end of 2020

When is this happening? 

  • Collaborate Original will no longer be available for clients in Sydney as of May 1, 2020. 
  • Collaborate Original will no longer be available for clients hosted in the Calgary Hosting Center as of August 1, 2020
  • Collaborate Original will no longer be available for clients hosted in the Amsterdam and VA2 Hosting Center as of December 31, 2020
  • Please see the chart below with planned phase-out dates by region

Region/Hosting Center 

End of Service for Collaborate Original 

SYD1 (Sydney Hosted) 

May 1, 2020 

CAL1 (Calgary Hosted) 

August 1, 2020 

AMS1 (Amsterdam Hosted) 

December 31, 2020

VA2 (Virginia Hosted) 

December 31, 2020

How do I know in which data center we're hosted? 

  • Check the URL you're using to access the Collaborate Original Administrator interface, it will tell you which region you're hosted in.

Why is this happening? 

  • We made this decision based on a variety of factors including overall usage of Collaborate Original across our clients globally.  Currently, 89% of our clients globally are already using Collaborate Ultra.  Additionally, Collaborate Original is built on an aging technology stack and its desktop components are dependent on Java 8, which will no longer be receiving public support after 2020.  Please see the following article for more information about Java support. 

Does Collaborate Ultra have the same features as Collaborate Original? 

  • We recognize that Collaborate Ultra may not offer all the features used by current clients of Collaborate Original.  Some of these features are in the Collaborate Ultra roadmap, while we have made the strategic decision not to add others to Collaborate Ultra.  However, we believe Collaborate Ultra is a modern product and it will meet the needs of the majority of our clients.  For an introduction on the difference in features between Ultra and Original, and what is planned on our roadmap, you may consult this help page: https://help.blackboard.com/Collaborate/Ultra/Administrator/Choose_Experience

Can I move or start over my Collaborate Original in a different region? 

  • This is not a viable stopgap measure, as we will continue to phase out Collaborate Original on a regional basis.  

What will happen to my recordings? 

Will there be an additional cost for administrators to access the recordings after the end-of-service? 

What if I want to move to Collaborate Ultra now? 

What if I need more information? 


The information contained in the Knowledge Base was written and/or verified by Blackboard Support. It is approved for client use. Nothing in the Knowledge Base shall be deemed to modify your license in any way to any Blackboard product. If you have comments, questions, or concerns, please send an email to kb@blackboard.com. © 2020 Blackboard Inc. All rights reserved