Behind the Blackboard! Error: This recording is not available to view. - Behind the Blackboard Skip Navigation
Download PDF  Icon Download PDF    Print article

Error: This recording is not available to view.

Date Published: Sep 30,2020


CategoryProduct:Known Issues & Error Messages; Version:Ultra Experience
Article No.: 000064643
Product:
Collaborate - Ultra Experience
Document Type:
User Documentation

Document Summary:

Error Summary

When attempting to playback some Collaborate Ultra recordings, users may be presented with a message stating, "This recording is not available to view.". This article explains why the message is presented and how to access the recording when applicable.

Affected Platforms

Collaborate Ultra Recordings with secured playback links.

Information:

Description

With the release of Collaborate Ultra version 20.16 on September 10, 2020, public access to newly created recordings is disabled by default. Collaborate Ultra recordings with public access enabled can be viewed by anyone that has a playback link for the recording. Anyone attempting to access a recording with a secured playback link will be presented with the following message:

This recording is not available to view.

Solution / Workaround

Collaborate Ultra Recordings with secure playback links can be accessed as follows:
  • Recordings created in Blackboard Learn courses using the Blackboard Collaborate Ultra building block or LTI integration
    • Users enrolled in the Blackboard Learn course where the recording was originally created can access the recording using the Blackboard Collaborate Ultra tool. Users can either click the recording name or the recording options menu, then click the Watch now button.
    • Note that sharing a link to the recording within the originating course will not allow others to access the recording if the playback link is secured.
  • Recordings created via the Collaborate Ultra Scheduler
    • Session owners can access their recordings created via the Collaborate Ultra Scheduler using the Recordings section from the panel on the left side of the Scheduler interface. Users can either click the recording name or the recording options menu, then click the Watch now button.
Students
If you've been provided with a link to access a Collaborate Ultra recording and receive the message described in this article, please contact your course instructor or the session owner to request access.

Faculty / Session Owners
If you need to share a link to your Collaborate Ultra recordings with others, individual recordings can be edited to enable public access. Please refer to the Help page below for instructions: Administrators
If you would prefer to change the default setting for all future Collaborate Ultra recordings for your organization to enable public access, please submit a request on Behind the Blackboard. Note that faculty / session owners can still choose to turn public access off for individual recordings via the recording settings.


The information contained in the Knowledge Base was written and/or verified by Blackboard Support. It is approved for client use. Nothing in the Knowledge Base shall be deemed to modify your license in any way to any Blackboard product. If you have comments, questions, or concerns, please send an email to kb@blackboard.com. © 2021 Blackboard Inc. All rights reserved