Behind the Blackboard! Purge Delete Records in Learn - Behind the Blackboard Skip Navigation
Download PDF  Icon Download PDF    Print article

Purge Delete Records in Learn

Date Published: Jun 01,2021


CategoryProduct:Learn Administration; Version:Learn
Article No.: 000075571
Product:
Blackboard Learn




Information:

With our current Blackboard functionality in Learn, you can disable and purge all records in a specific data source via the GUI. According to your need, you can choose to delete the information from your Learn environment completely or purge all records while keeping content as a safety measure.  

Please follow the steps described below, corresponding to your preference.  


Option 1: 

This option will delete all records and content data in those records, which will bar the possibility of recovering related data after the initial purge but free up storage space. If you choose this option please proceed as follows: 

  1. Create a new DSK and name it with a name that clearly indicates that it will delete data (example <DSK-PurgeData>).  

  2. Move the requested list of [courses/users/enrollments] to a new DSK. Refer to the following SIS Feed Files information that will allow you to administer your data and assign the corresponding DSK as desired: 

  3. When running the integration, select the option delete. 

  4. Make sure your purge options are set to disable or purge. WARNING: Only use purge if you are certain you won't need this data anymore. 

  5. It is a best practice to set the integration to "inactive" when you are not actively using it to avoid a potential mistake as purge is not reversible. In particular: if an abbreviated file is inadvertently run in refresh mode against an integration with delete set to purge severe and potentially irreversible data loss may occur. 

 

Option 2: 

This option will also delete all records. Please refer to the following article on how to manage orphan content, should you need to export it/move it/delete it.

It is also important to note that if orphan content exists: a course cannot be created or restored with the same id. The orphan content folder will need to be cleaned up first. 

If you choose this option please proceed as following: 

  1. Create a new DSK and name it (example <DSK-PurgeData>). Proceed to move the requested list of [courses/users/enrollments] to a new DSK. Refer to the following SIS Feed Files information that will allow you to administrate your data and assign the corresponding DSK as desired. 

  2. Disable records. Navigate to System Admin Tab > Data Integration (below Integrations)> Data Sources. Once there, you will find the new DSK that you created (example <DSK-PurgeData>). Next to the name of the new DSK, you will see a button for a drop-down (▼) menu. Click there and choose "Disable Records". Ensure that "All records" and "All record types" are selected in the new screen and then click on Submit. On the list of Data Sources, wait until all records are disabled by periodically refreshing and checking the ENABLED RECORDS and DISABLED RECORDS columns. Once all records are disabled, you will see no records under ENABLED RECORDS. 

  3. Purge Records. Next to the name of the new DSK, you will see a button for a drop-down menu, click there and select "Purge Records ". Verify that "All records" and "All record types" are selected and hit Submit to start deleting the records. Once all the courses are deleted, the total records listed under your data source list should be 0 (zero). Refer to:  BbHelp section: Purge records

  4. Delete the new DSK created (optional). Next to the name of the new DSK, you will see a button for a drop-down menu, click there and select "Delete." The DSK must be empty for the deletion to succeed.  Refer to: BbHelp section: Delete DSKs

It is highly recommended that you leave the records disabled for some time, if possible. It allows for any possible mistakes in the records to be found. If there are any mistakes, you will get reports about not being able to access a course or a user not being able to log in because they are disabled. Once the records are deleted, there is no going back, and that data will be gone. 


Attention: Courses with linked content to a deleted course will be affected as those links to the course being purged won't be available afterward. 


The information contained in the Knowledge Base was written and/or verified by Blackboard Support. It is approved for client use. Nothing in the Knowledge Base shall be deemed to modify your license in any way to any Blackboard product. If you have comments, questions, or concerns, please send an email to kb@blackboard.com. © 2021 Blackboard Inc. All rights reserved